Current Status
Not Enrolled
Price
249.00
Get Started
Course
Materials

Course Description

A practical course in chaplaincy skills for community contexts where a ministry of nonsectarian spiritual care is needed. Learn how to offer a ministry of presence that honors ecumenical and interfaith engagement, demonstrates cultural humility, practices refined listening skills, and responds to trauma with sensitivity and accountability.

In the classes identified for this cohort, the learner will be introduced to the theory, some practices, and various contexts of chaplaincy as a historic and emerging form of religious leadership in the United States and abroad. This cohort is intended for (1) individuals who are exploring a call to chaplaincy in healthcare, prisons, military, higher education, and (2) those who are already providing community support as a chaplain, pastors, deacons, missionaries who are providing care in other contexts.

Learners will attend 12 hours of synchronous class time (6 weeks, 2-hr classes) with board-certified and endorsed chaplains, as well as engage in asynchronous coursework of independent written and other assignments as determined by the instructors.

  • Synchronous class meetings on Mondays, 6:00-8:00 pm ET / 3:00-5:00 pm PT
  • Dates: October 4, 11, 18, 25; November 1, 8
  • Cohort celebration: November 15, 2021, 6:00-7:00 PM ET / 3:00-4:00 pm PT

What you will learn:

  • Basic theory, practices and contexts of chaplaincy
  • Theologies of multi-faith spiritual care
  • Specific competencies required of chaplains in different contexts
  • Distinctions between the role of a congregational leader with that of a chaplain

Required Texts

Ratings and Reviews

0.0
Avg. Rating
0 Ratings
5
0
4
0
3
0
2
0
1
0
What's your experience? We'd love to know!
No Reviews Found!
Show more reviews
What's your experience? We'd love to know!